Team India Squad for Asia Cup 2018, Kohli Rested, Rohit Sharma to lead

Asia Cup 2018 Team India Squad

The All-India Senior Selection Committee met in Mumbai on 1st September 2018 to pick the Indian Cricket Team for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018 starting 15th September in UAE.

The committee in consultation with the team management took a very big and surprising decision to rest Virat Kohli from the tournament. Team will be lead by the Rohit Sharma while Gabbar of team India Mr. Shikhar Dhawan has been named as vice-captain.

Image result for rohit sharma captain

There is no any place for Suresh Raina and Shreyas Iyer in the selected team, they have been replaced by Ambati Rayudu, who has recently cleared the YoYo Test and all-rounder Kedar Jadhav, who has completely recovered from his hamstring surgery.

India squad for Asia Cup 2018

Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC), KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed.

Asia Cup 2018 Team India Squad

“Considering the workload, we have given Virat Kohli a rest. He has been playing continuously for quite some time. We need to preserve some of our precious players who are playing all three formats. Looking at that workload we have started with Virat and he will be rested for Asia Cup,” MSK Prasad, BCCI Chief selector was quoted as saying by ANI.

“There are two, three slots we are yet to see before we fix the final team for the World Cup and one of the slots is a seamer slot which is available. We are looking at a left-hander option in Khaleel Ahmed,” he added.

Author: Sachchidanand Singh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *